Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Imo State Elections: Rochas will win but Ohakim will rule

There is apprehension in Imo State over today’s governorship and House of Assembly elections. The governorship election has been described by many as battle of titans because of the personalities involved. The main contenders are the incumbent, Chief Ikedi Ohakim of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Rochas Okorocha of All Progresssives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Ifeanyi Araraume of Action Congress of Nigeria

(ACN). The coast is not clear as to who would carry the day between Ohakim and Okorocha.
For instance, nine out 10 people spoken to tipped Okorocha to win in free and fair election. But others said Ohakim might bring his power of incumbency to bear.

Daily Sun gathered that the sack of Interior Minister, Captain Iheanacho has further affected the chances of Ohakim winning. He has lost more support as a result because Imolites believe he was behind the sack. But Ohakim has won some to his side, especially those who hold fast to the zoning arrangement. The Orlu, Okigwe and Owerri zones argue that Rochas, from Orlu Zone, has no moral justification to become the governor after Chief Achike Udenwa from the same zone ruled the state for eight years.

However, there is allegation that some people in this camp have started singing different tunes after money changed hands. According to a source, what they now say is, “ let him complete his second term and go.”
Among the group that are determined to vote Ohakim out are members of Keke operators. They are unrepentant about their position and are not hiding it from anyone who cares to listen but some of them are of the view that Ohakim will be declared winner despite their opposition.

Meanwhile, security has been beefed up in the state while names of adhoc workers, including corps members, have been displayed at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) offices in the three zones and the commission’s headquarters at the state secretariat.
One of them, Chika Uduma, said “Rochas will win but Ohakim will rule.”

No comments:

Post a Comment